EDUCATION FOUNDATION FOR BILLINGS PUBLIC SCHOOLS EDUCATOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS ANNOUNCED 2016

Roger Eble Scholarship

The Roger Eble Scholarship is awarded to educators to improve their skills in teaching children with unusual or challenging learning problems. Recipients of the 2016 Eble Scholarships are *Tawyna Catron* of Castle Rock Middle School for her project, "ASIST Training Suicide Prevention," Lynea *Wallace* of Boulder Elementary for "Superflex Social Thinking," and *Courtney Niemeyer* of Eagle Cliffs Elementary for "Energized to Innovate." This year \$1,800 was awarded through the Roger Eble Scholarship.

Iim Rickard Scholarship

The Jim Rickard Scholarship sponsors further study, in-district training, as well as projects within the school district. The 2016 scholarship winner is *Tiffany Rodriguez* (\$500) of Ponderosa Elementary for her project *"Collaborative Thinking"*.

Kathy Hill Memorial Outstanding Leadership Scholarship

The Kathy Hill Memorial Outstanding Leadership Scholarship provides funds for educators serving students in kindergarten through 8th grade to improve their leadership skills. This year's Scholarship winners are **Tanya Kirschman** of Highland Elementary for "*Inspiring Empathy, Compassion, Kindness to Promote Positive School Climate,*" and **Mark Kane** of McKinley Elementary for "*Second Step for McKinley Elementary.*"

Gail Surwill Education Scholarship

The Gail Surwill Scholarship provides funds for supporting projects and educator professional development to benefit student growth and opportunities. This year's scholarship recipient is *Sarah Rainey* of Riverside Middle School for "*Transforming my Tech.*"

Rina B. Moog Writing Scholarship

The Rina B. Moog Writing Scholarship provides funds for educators in 7th through 12th grade to learn more effective ways to teach writing. This year's scholarship recipient is the Elk *River Writing Project*. The scholarship will cover the registration fees of two Billings Public Schools' educators to take part in this year's Elk River Writing Project.

Leonardo Smith Diversity Scholarship

The Leonardo Smith Diversity Award provides funds for educators and students to advance their understanding and respect for issues involving sexual orientation and bullying. This year's recipient is the National Coalition Building Institute.

The mission of the **Education Foundation** is to promote excellence in education by providing opportunities and resources to Billings public school students. The Foundation works in cooperation with the public school system, but operates independently. Through endowments, scholarships, grants, and specific projects, the Foundation provides opportunities and resources for

students and educators in Billings Public Schools to promote excellence in education. Major activities include: Classroom Grants, Partners in Education, Reading Rocks, Saturday Live, and scholarships for students and teachers.